U.S. Justice Department says it was misled in immigrant teens casePrevious Article
Two Appointed to Pontifical Academy of SciencesNext Article
Breaking News

Paraguay: Pope Receives 17 Bishops on Visit ‘ad Limina’

Line Spacing+- AFont Size+- Print This Article
Paraguay: Pope Receives 17 Bishops on Visit ‘ad Limina’

This morning Pope Francis on November 6, 2017, received 17 Bishops of the Paraguayan Episcopal Conference on their Visit “€œad Limina Apostolorum.”€ stated a press release issued by the Holy See Press Office.

During a Visit “€œad Limina Apostolorum,”€ each Bishop gives a report to the Pontiff on the moral and spiritual state of his diocese and all that is related to his government.

In their Visit “€œad Limina“€ every five years the Bishops of a country pray before the tombs of Saints Peter and Paul in Rome and renew their fidelity to the Holy Father.

Pope Francis visited Paraguay from July 10-12, 2015, after his visits to Ecuador and Bolivia. In Paraguay, he met with the Civil Authorities and, on July 12, with the Paraguay”€™s civil society in Asuncion.


The Paraguayan Bishops in Visit “€œad Limina”€

Salesian Archbishop Edmundo Ponciano Valenzuela Mellid of Asuncion, with the Redemptorist Archbishop Emeritus, Monsignor Eustaquio Pastor Cuquejo Verga.

Bishop Candido Cardenas Villalba of Benjamin Aceval,

Bishop Ricardo Jorge Valenzuela Rios of Caacupe, with Bishop Emeritus, Monsignor Catalino Claudio Gimenez Medina of the Schoenstatt Fathers,

Father Osmar Lopez Benitez, Diocesan Administrator of Carapegua,

Oblate Bishop Heinz Wilhelm Steckling of Ciudad del Este,

Bishop Miguel Angel Cabello Almada of Concepcion,

Bishop Juan Bautista Gavilan Velasquez of Coronel Oviedo,

Bishop Francisco Javier Pistilli Scorzara of Encarnacion of the Schoenstatt Fathers, with Dehonian Bishop Emeritus Ignacio Gogorza Izaguirre of Beth,

Bishop Pedro Collar Noguera of San Juan Bautista de Las Mas Misiones, with Bishop Emeritus Mario Melanio Medina Salinas,

Bishop Joaquin Hermes Robledo Romero of San Lorenzo,

Spiritan Bishop Pierre Laurent Jubinville of San Pedro,

Monsignor Waldemar Sanchez Franco, Diocesan Administrator of Villarrica del Espiritu Santo,

Ordinary Military Bishop Adalberto Martinez Flores,

Salesian Bishop Gabriel Narciso Escobar Ayala of Media, Apostolic Vicar of the Paraguayan Chaco, and

Oblate Bishop Lucio Alfert of Tubiza, Apostolic Vicar of Pilcomayo

Translation by Virginia M. Forrester




Vatican Live Video Feed

Pope Francis on Twitter