Continental China: Monsignors Luke Li Jingfeng & Matthias Yu Chengxin DeceasedPrevious Article
Poland: Pope Wishes the Country a Time of Peace and HopeNext Article
Breaking News

Pope Names Three New Bishops

Line Spacing+- AFont Size+- Print This Article
Pope Names Three New Bishops

Pope Francis on January 3, 2017 appointed three new bishops:

Bishop Ginés Ramón García Beltrán

Bishop Ginés Ramón García Beltrán was born on October 3, 1961 in Lorca, diocese of Cartagena. He attended the seminary of Almería, then based in Granada, obtaining a bachelor”€™s degree in theology from the faculty of theology of Granada in 1984. He graduated in canon law from the Pontifical Gregorian University in 1986.

He was ordained a priest on September 20, 1985 and was incardinated in the diocese of Almería. He has held the offices of parish priest of Santa María, Mojácar (1987-1989), vice rector of the minor seminary (1989-1992), rector of the San IndalecioTheological Institute (1991-1994), spiritual director of the minor seminary (1992-1993), parish priest of Santa María, Rioja (1993-1994), parish priest of Santa Maria de los Ángeles, Almería, and archpriest of the zone (1994-1996), episcopal delegate of the diocesan Synod (1996-1999), vicar general (1996-2005), canon of the cathedral (2003-2005), parish administrator and professor of the Centre of Theological Studies (2005-2009).

He was appointed as bishop of Guadix on December 3, 2009 and consecrated on February 27, 2010. In the Spanish Episcopal Conference he is a member of the Permanent Committee as President of the Episcopal Commission of Social Communications Media since March 12, 2014. He was previously a member of the same Commission, and also of the Heritage Commission (2010-2014). Since 2016 he has been a member of the Holy See Secretariat for Communication.

Bishop Francisco Canindé Palhano

Bishop Francisco Canindé Palhano was born January 1, 1949 in the city of São Hosé de Mipibu, in the archdiocese of Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte.

After his elementary studies in the “€œSão Pedro“€ seminary in the diocese of Natal, he studied letters at the Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte. He was then transferred to São Paulo where he completed his studies in philosophy and in theology at the “€œNossa Senhora da Assunção“€. Faculty of Theology. He also holds a licentiate in moral theology from the Alphonsianum Academy in Rome.

He was ordained a priest on February 2, 1975 and was incardinated in the archdiocese of Natal in which he held the following pastoral roles: parish vicar of “€œSant”€™Ana“€ in Santana do Matos (1975); parish vicar of “€œSant”€™Ana e São Joaquim“€ in São José de Mipibu (1975-1984); parish vicar of “€œNossa Senhora do Ó“€ in Nísia Floresta (1984-1987); parish priest of “€œSanto Alfonso Maria de Ligório“€ in Natal (1987-2006); rector and professor of moral theology and liturgy at the “€œSão Pedro“€ seminary of Natal (1995-2006); master of liturgical celebrations and member of the Committee for the XII National Eucharistic Congress (1991); vicar episcopal for Family Pastoral Ministry and ecclesiastical assistant of the movement ECC “€“ “€œEncontro de Casais com Cristo“€; and chaplain of the Marist College.

On July 26 he was appointed as diocesan vicar of Bonfim, receiving episcopal ordination the following October 21.

Bishop-elect Dermot Pius Farrell

Bishop-elect Dermot Pius Farrell was born in Castletown-Geoghegan, in the county of Westmeath, on November 22, 1954. He carried out his studies in theology at Saint Patrick College in Maynooth, obtaining a licentiate in Sacred Theology.

He was ordained a priest for the diocese of Meath on June 7, 1980.

After ordination he served as deputy priest of the Cathedral Church (1981-1985). He was then sent to Rome, where he obtained a doctorate in dogmatic theology from the Pontifical Gregorian University.

Upon returning to Ireland, he began to teach moral theology at Saint Patrick College in Maynooth, first becoming vice-president (1993-1996) and then president (1996-2007). On June 6, 2007 he was appointed as prelate of His Holiness.

From 2007 to the present, he has served as parish priest of Dunboyne, and since 2009, as vicar general of the diocese of Meath.




Vatican Live Video Feed

Pope Francis on Twitter