Text: Pope Francis message to U.S. bishops on EncuentroPrevious Article
‘Money Is to Serve, Not Govern,’ Pope Tells Business LeadersNext Article
Breaking News

Texas Cardinal, L.A. Archbishop Elected USCCB President

Line Spacing+- AFont Size+- Print This Article
Texas Cardinal, L.A. Archbishop Elected USCCB President


– Cardinal Daniel N. DiNardo of Galveston-Houston was elected president of the U.S. bishops’
conference Nov. 15 for a three-year term to begin at the conclusion of the
bishops’ annual fall general assembly in Baltimore.

Cardinal DiNardo collected a
majority of votes on the first ballot of voting during the second day of the bishops’ public session. Based on the number of bishops voting, 104 votes were
needed for election, and Cardinal DiNardo — the current vice president of the U.S.
Conference of Catholic Bishops — received 113.

He will succeed Archbishop Joseph
E. Kurtz of Louisville, Kentucky, whose three-year term as president concludes
at the end of the meeting.

Elected vice president was
Archbishop Jose H. Gomez of Los Angeles. He was elected on the third ballot by 131-84 in a run-off against Archbishop Gregory M. Aymond of New Orleans.

Under rules established by the USCCB,
the names of 10 bishops who are willing to be nominated for the USCCB
presidency are presented for voting. After a president is elected, the
remaining nine are then considered for the vice presidency. If no candidate of the nine has
received a simple majority after two ballots, the third ballot features only
the two top vote-getters in the second round.

By virtue of his election, Archbishop
Gomez will not take over
as chairman of the bishops’ Committee on Migration. He was elected last
year as chairman-elect of the committee and was to succeed the current outgoing
chairman, Auxiliary Bishop Eusebio
L. Elizondo of Seattle, at the end of this year’s general assembly.

After a mid-day meeting, the committee advanced two names for chairman that were voted on by
the full body of bishops: Bishop Joe S. Vasquez of Austin,Texas, and Archbishop John C. Wester of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Bishop Vasquez was elected in a 109-91 vote. Archbishop Wester also had been a nominee for president.

The other nominees for president were, in
alphabetical order, Archbishops Charles J. Chaput of Philadelphia and Paul S.
Coakley of Oklahoma City; Bishop Daniel E. Flores of Brownsville, Texas, the
only non-archbishop among the original 10; and Archbishops William E. Lori of
Baltimore, Allen H. Vigneron of Detroit and Thomas G. Wenski of Miami.

The bishops also voted for
chairmen-elect of five standing committees and three representatives for the
board of Catholic Relief Services, the U.S. bishops’ overseas relief and
development agency.

The standing committees include
Canonical Affairs and Church Governance; Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs;
Evangelization and Catechesis; International Justice and Peace; and Protection
of Children and Young People.

The chairmen-elect each will
begin a three-year term as chairmen at the end of the bishops’ fall general
assembly in 2017:

— Committee on Canonical
Affairs and Church Governance: Bishop Robert P. Deeley of Portland, Maine,
elected over Bishop David M. Malloy of Rockford, Illinois, 111 to 89.

— Committee on Ecumenical and
Interreligious Affairs: Bishop Joseph C. Bambera of Scranton, Pennsylvania,
elected over Bishop Michael C. Barber of Oakland, California, 115 to 90.

— Committee on Evangelization
and Catechesis: Auxiliary Bishop Robert E. Barron of Los Angeles elected over
Bishop Frank J. Caggiano of Bridgeport, Connecticut, 122 to 90.

— Committee on International
Justice and Peace: Archbishop Timothy P. Broglio of the U.S. Archdiocese for
the Military Services elected over Bishop Robert W. McElroy of San Diego, 127
to 88.

— Committee on Protection of
Children and Young People: Bishop Timothy L. Doherty of Lafayette, Indiana,
elected over Bishop Joseph J. Tyson of Yakima, Washington, 128 to 86.

Also several chairmen-elect
chosen last year will become committee chairmen at the end of this year’s
assembly and will serve three-year terms:

— Divine Worship: Archbishop
Wilton D. Gregory of Atlanta.

— Domestic Justice and Human
Development: Bishop Frank J. Dewane of Venice, Florida.

— Clergy, Consecrated Life and
Vocations: Cardinal-elect Joseph W. Tobin of Indianapolis, who recently was
appointed archbishop of Newark, New Jersey.

— Catholic Education: Bishop
George V. Murry of Youngstown, Ohio.

— Laity, Marriage, Family Life
and Youth: Archbishop Chaput.

A vote also was taken for three
seats on the board of Catholic Relief Services. Elected were Archbishop Coakley, who ends his term as president of the board but
remained eligible to continue serving; Archbishop Jerome E. Listecki of
Milwaukee; and Bishop Gregory L. Parkes of Pensacola-Tallahassee, Florida.

– – –

Contributing to this story was
Dennis Sadowski. Follow Pattison and Sadowski on Twitter: @MeMarkPattison and @DennisSadowski.


Vatican Live Video Feed

Pope Francis on Twitter